Posted by: illinigirl | September 17, 2008

I’VE GOT THE POWER!

Okay, actually, I got power yesterday and was able to move back last night. . . but I haven’t been able to tell you because I’ve been busy. . . sorry.

It was the greatest thing in the world to have that email come up on my screen from my neighbor yesterday with the subject line “WE HAVE POWER!”. . . I did let out a little scream when I got that note, but I’m trying not to gloat, as most people still don’t have it.

I got home last night. . . and couldn’t get my garage door up.  It seemed to be off the track thing.  Luckily, Stuart, Jen, and Matt came over and helped me with it. . . A bolt had just come loose, and Stuart reattached it.  Nothing at all really, but I wasn’t sure if there was anything more serious that had happened or if it was safe. . . he just thinks the wind shook the hell out of my garage (which is separate from my house) and knocked everything loose.  My neighbor said that her garage was the same.  I’m just glad it didn’t get sucked in like some others in my neighborhood. . .  so yea!  I had a car again!  Thanks to Stuart, Jen, and Matt for coming over and helping out!

I went with Jen, Stuart and Matt to a place down the street from Stuart that was open for dinner.  How freakin wonderful to have a diversion.  Made it seem like regular times.  It was a Mexican place, and it was amazing.  Also, the meal was so big that it gave me THREE meals, which was awesome.  Jen informed me that my meal only cost $6, which was awesome. . . considering how amazing and huge it was.  Thank you, I told Jen tonight that we are going back every week.  🙂 . . . or maybe I said every day!

I am now offering beds, hot showers, ice, freezer space, laundry services, and a place to hang out, people. . . if you need anything, PLEASE LET ME KNOW!  Two of my blog readers have already taken me up on the hot shower and hanging out services.  🙂  It’s pretty cool outside, so no one is taking me up on the bed service. . . yet. . . that may change after this weekend if the heat creeps back in. . . I may have people all over my place, which is fine!  I don’t have ice trays, which is dumb. . . so I’m making ice in whatever containers I can find.  Staci said on the radio this morning, one of the stations was doing an “Ike, Ice Baby” promotion where everyone that has power and can make ice makes as much as they can to help others.  Duh, why didn’t I think of that last night?  Oh well, I’ll take ice to work tomorrow.

Things are getting better day by day as more gas stations and stores are able to open.  Jen told me that the gas station down the street from me had no line, but I’m going to wait it out a bit because I do still have quite a bit of gas, and I didn’t want to go in the dark (gas station has lights, but there is no light anywhere else around, which creeps me out).  There was a huge line at that station on the way home from work tonight. . . but hopefully it will get better every day.

I still need to post pictures. . . depending on how I think I’ll sleep, maybe I’ll start that post tonight.  I owe a lot of people emails, too. . . but with my new found power popularity, I won’t have much free time to do that for a while. . . which is great!  It’s so nice to have people hanging out here, and I need to get off the flipping computer more anyways!

It’s so nice to sleep in my own bed again, yet every day. . . as I am reminded at work and the tons of calls that I take each day, there are soooo many people in need.  I got my first call from a guy today who has a home that was *completely* obliterated.  Ugh.

Thanks again for your continued prayers and thoughts for everyone in my area!

Responses

  1. “Its gettin, its gettin, its gettin kinda hectic…” Glad things are starting to get back to normal.

  2. SO glad to hear this update! Great news that you can be home and be comfortable (a.c.), and now have a place that others can stay, too.

  3. I am SO glad to hear you are okay. I can’t even imagine what it must have been like down there during the storm. My cousin actually lives down there in Houston and owns a bar called Ernie’s on Banks. We talked to him last night and he said that both his house and his bar narrowly escaped any major damage. He described the storm as sounding like a bunch of babies screaming for 8 hours straight. UGH!! I was just in Houston, well, I guess not JUST in Houston, but we were down there last November for his wedding and it was a lot of fun!! Well stay strong down there and keep us posted on everything!!

  4. good! i’m glad you’re in the position where you can help others out now. they’re lucky they have you.

  5. You have been in our thoughts and prayers and I am glad that you are OK!

  6. Thanks for showing all this. It’s cool to see it documented like this.

  7. Again, I’m glad you are OK, and that your power has returned. As much as I’ve followed the storm and recovery, it’s quite different when the news/details are coming from someone I know!

    What a mess. 😦 I hope people are getting back on their feet quickly…


Leave a Reply

Categories

