Posted by: illinigirl | July 20, 2008

Home Ownership

For any of you that rent and say, “Oh illini_girl, how I wish I could own!”

Let me just say. . . that there are definitely some great things about home ownership. . . but there are plenty of annoyances.

Today, I found a problem that was NASTY and has taken me 4 hours to deal with and clean today.  Ugh.  I don’t even want to go into it. . . so much for everything I wanted to do today.  I have no idea what is wrong or what this will cost me to fix.

I have two other readers that have to make major renovations this year (mine is not as big of a deal). . .

kcjayhawk–roof
queenlizzle–plumbing and bathroom renovation (NOT by choice. . . by necessity).

In my houses, I’ve had several things go wrong. . . garage door stop working, air conditioner stop working, toilet had parts break, etc., etc., etc. . . . Nothing major, but still. . . takes time and MONEY.

If you’re going to buy a house, make sure you have a big emergency fund!

Responses

  1. roof, gutters, upstairs carpet, the list goes on and on…
    sorry you had a home emergency. i hope your sewer line didn’t back up.

  2. also….a word of advice on the emergency fund. just to be safe…take whatever you THINK seems reasonable to have for an emergency fund and triple it. you’ll probably still come up short, but less short.

    haha 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

