Posted by: illinigirl | July 8, 2008

A little nostalgia. . .

When my sister was here visiting back in. . . February or March?. . . we saw something in the store that we HAD to buy.  We FREAKED out when we saw it!!!  It brought back a bit of nostalgia that you just don’t run into every day. . . yes, it’s a. . .

Snoopy Sno Cones Maker!!!

My sister and I My mom and dad used to make these when we were young!  Why did Mom and Dad have to make them???  Well, you have to put ice in that tumbler contraption and turn it to shave it.  This is basically impossible for a child to do.  (And honestly, I might even struggle to this day!  Ha!)  You put a fruit drink into the snowman and squeeze that on top of your ice as your flavoring. . . oh, and don’t forget the shovel if you need to get the pesky shavings out of the tumbler!  Yes, Snoopy thought of EVERYTHING.

Have I made a sno cone since I’ve purchased this thing?  No. . . but I will. . . someday.

Here is the conversation I had with my mom when I bought it:

Me–Mom!  Guess what I bought today?!?!
Mom–What?
Me–A SNOOPY SNO CONE MAKER!!!
Mom–Why?

Clearly, she doesn’t share my joy. . . Maybe it brought back memories of her cranking the dang thing. . . but my sis and I sure were excited.  😉

Responses

  1. freeze the koolaid in ice cube trays…then put it thru the sno-cone maker. then you won’t need your mom’s help anymore 🙂

    i love that the two of you bought that, though!

  2. i had that same one too. i think we only used it a handful of times but we that it was the best thing ever.

  3. I have to say that I got a good chuckle out of a Snoopy Sno Cone maker! But seriously, I think we all have memories of our youth that make us smile. I think it’s great that you found one of those smile memories with your sister!

  4. Ooooh, I forgot about those things, I might be in the market for one soon! I can totally hear your mom saying, “why?” about you buying one, cracking up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

