Posted by: illinigirl | April 30, 2008

Things JK Eats

I would like to introduce you to my favorite blog:  “Things JK Eats.”

JK is a friend I met through QueenLizzle.  (I just tried to add a paragraph explaining QueenLizzle, but it turned into a ridiculous ramble that even caused *me* to lose interest.)  Let me just cut to the chase and note that QueenLizzle was one of my best buds and roommates from grad school.  We lived nearly the same life until 2001, and didn’t even know each other (same dorm in college, same major, common friends, from small towns in Central IL).  QueenLizzle’s friends have always been kind enough to include me in their lives, blogging communities, holiday excursions, etc. . . now they are stuck with me. . .  forever!

Picture of JK and Liz dancing at his wedding. . . circa 2003  (It was 2003, correct?)

JK absolutely cracks me up.  His latest venture is a blog where he experiments with different interesting, unique, and often nastyfoods. . . shows pictures, videos, and witty commentary.  He is. . . the ultimate guinea pig.

Some of my favorite items he’s reviewed are: 

Dwight Yoakum’s Chicken Lickin’s Chicken Rings Afire
Prepared Squid
Wendy’s Spicy Baconator
Cheeseburger in a Can
Reese’s Peanut Butter and Banana Creme Cups

I have to admit that I don’t even know of the existence of many of his food items until I read his blog.  Yeah, that means he’s CUTTING EDGE.

If you’d like to check out this masterpiece, please visit:  www.thingsjkeats.com

In terms of “Things Hannah Eats”. . . I’m angry because Kraft changed the formula of my Ranch Salad Dressing.  I consume massive amounts of this dressing on a weekly basis, and now. . . it’s different, and I don’t like it!!!  In a similar move Miss Vickie’s has changed it’s BBQ chips, which used to be my favorite chips.  Now, they are mediocre at best.  The thing is, this I can live with this because it means I’m eating less *crappy for me* chips. . . but seriously, can’t live without my Ranch dressing.  Maybe I will have to turn to the Hidden Valley???. . . or I’m going to have to start making my own dressing from scratch?  It’s a dire situation, people.

Responses

  1. FYI…we really like Hidden Valley Ranch…the packet you mix at home with milk and mayo. It’s easy and yummy! Though my boys like the reduced fat Kraft and haven’t complained that it’s different..

    Going to have to blogroll JK’s blog. Sounds very interesting!

  2. Thanks for the endorsement, Hannah! 3 things:

    1) Where the hell did this picture come from? I mean, obviously my wedding, but I’ve never seen it before, and I look tired/drunk/sweaty.

    2) (related to #1) Yes, it was 2003. 5 years this month *awwww*

    3) (unrelated to #1) For a limited time only, (forever), visitors to TJE from illini_girl’s adventures receive a free…. Internet?

    Unbeatable deal. Cross-promotion, even.

    -J

  3. Oh, there’s a 4th thing:

    We just got the ‘new’ Kraft Ranch (3 cheese, maybe), and I’m totally on-board. Sorry. 😦

  4. I just got back from a Wal-Mart trip and saw the new packaging design of Kraft salad dressings. I didn’t realize they changed the INSIDE too! Injustice!

  5. Thanks to all for your sympathy for the Kraft dressing. I’m thinking if maybe I try a new flavor of the Kraft Ranch, maybe it will disguise the other change; however, I think what’s done is done. By the taste of it, it seems as though they’ve probably made it lower in fat and calories. I can taste “lite” items immediately and do not dig them. I will have to do a blog entry on this.

    JK–That picture was given to me by Lizzle, I believe. She gave me a large amount of pictures from that day. I’m not sure about your state of sobriety in that picture, but I think you look lovely. I also have to do a blog entry sometime about your wedding, and the most classic wedding experience and quote from Lizzle re: BG’s “dates”


Leave a Reply

Categories

